FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ

What is HALAL?

Halal is a universal term meaning lawful or permitted. It applies to all facets of life, but it is primarily used in the food industry. At Halal India, we use this term in conjunction with food products, meat products, cosmetics, personal care products, food ingredients, and food contact materials

Which Industries are eligible for certification?

Basic food, beverages, pharmaceutical, cosmetics and toiletries, healthcare or chemicals

·        Food services facilities (restaurants, hotels, catering) only when the premises are completely Halal. Alternatives to this may be arranged under specific Halal guidelines for those seeking a temporary license or for occasional catering purposes. Please contact us for further details.

·        Poultry plant/butchery/cold room where completely Halal premises or under specific Halal guidelines for batch production.

How does Halal certification and Accreditation Process work?

Halal India endeavors to make the Halal certification process as simple and efficient as possible. The following is a general guideline of what may be required. However, this should not to be regarded as a conclusive list as requirements could vary depending on the client’s specific needs.

  1. Registration through completing the application form 
  2. Applicant supplies labeling information with a list of all raw materials, ingredients and additives, process flow chart plus floor diagram for each product to be certified Halal.
  3. The application is acknowledged.
  4. Review of the application based on Halal India criteria and communication with the applicant.
  5. Site inspection visit and assessment report (fees apply regardless of outcome).
  6. The applicant may be required to submit a Halal program. Halal India supports the applicant to develop a program.
  7. Signing a mutual agreement including business, intellectual property, and product confidentiality.
  8. Award of Annual Halal Accreditation or Compliance Certification and Halal India on-going support to approved clients.
What is the difference between accreditation and certification?

Accreditation is the formal recognition by an accreditation authority to the technical and organizational competence of a conformity assessment body to carry out a specific service in accordance with the standards and technical regulations as described in their scope of accreditation. Registration is the requirement of Ministry of Environment, India, for issue or new license or renewal of an existing license to laboratories in India. This is NOT at all accreditation and the laboratories cannot claim to be accredited.

How confidential would our manufacturing and product details remain?

Halal India is sensitive to the confidential nature of any information your company provides for the purpose of Halal certification. Halal India will treat all information with the utmost confidentiality and will never take advantage of its position of trust amongst its clients or in the community for its own commercial gain. Please contact us directly if you would like to further discuss this or any specific needs your company may have.

How do I know if a product is Halal certified?

We oversee numerous companies involved in a variety of industries such as food and beverage, abattoir operations, cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, and healthcare.  Please look for the Halal India logo on products if you are unsure. You can also directly contact the manufacturer but be cautious, as there could still be some ingredients that they are not aware of as being doubtful and/or Haram. For this reason, ensuring the product is properly Halal-certified is ideal for peace of mind. And always remember, if in doubt, do without!

Which ingredients should I avoid in my products?

Until you have verified that they are sourced from Halal certified and approved products, please avoid these materials in your products

  • Animal fat or protein (halal animal, halal slaughtered?)
  • Anti-oxidants (animal or plant source?)
  • Dairy Products (enzymes/cheese/whey?)
  • Emulsifiers (animal or plant source?)
  • Enzymes (animal/microbial/plants?)
  • Flavouring agents (non-halal ingredients?)
  • L-Cysteine and other amino acids (source?)
  • Gelatin (animals, halal certified?)
  • Glycerine (animals or plant?)
  • Vitamins (carriers?)
Do Halal products taste different from non-halal products?

The difference in taste in minimal or non-existent. In meat products, Halal is expected to increase shelf life and improve the quality of meat thereby providing better taste

Your Suggestions